This Washington

Labor Council Releases 2010 Legislative Scorecard

By Camden Swita May 12, 2010

The Washington State Labor Council released its 2010 legislative score card today.

Labor champs this year were mainly in the House, with 20 representatives scoring at or near 100 percent "pro-labor," including Steve Conway (D-29), Maralyn Chase (D-32), John McCoy (D-38), Mary Lou Dickerson (D-36), Timm Ormsby (D-3), and Brendan Williams (D-22).

The WSLC wasn't as impressed with the Senate's voting record: Just six senators received the highest score of 88 percent.

The scorecard is accompanied by a column written by WSLC's President Rick Bender. He slams the a group of moderate Democrats that called themselves the "Roadkill Caucus," saying "They espouse a pro-corporate, anti-government agenda. They use the same rhetoric Republicans use about Washington having a horrible business climate, about the need to 'reduce government's footprint,' and even labeling their fellow party members as 'too liberal.'"

Bender slams Rep. Deb Eddy (D-48), Sen. Chris Marr (D-6), Sen. Mary Margaret Haugen (D-10), and Rep. Chris Hurst (D-31), among others, for paving the way for future Republican victories.
Filed under
Show Comments