Constantine Announces Rest of Transition Team

By Erica C. Barnett November 5, 2009

UPDATE: Incidentally, my prediction is that Tim Ceis becomes Constantine's second-in-command. Ceis stood in the back during Constantine's announcement, but the former Ron Sims chief of staff was clearly front-and-center. Moreover, Constantine kept talking about "continuity"—and, as I noted earlier, he has less than three weeks to put together a new executive branch of county government. Hiring someone who's done the job before (and who understands the partisan nature of the "nonpartisan" county) just makes sense.

King County Executive-Elect Dow Constantine—who has, as he just reminded reporters, just 19 days until his new administration takes over at the county—just announced the remainder of his transition team, and said he will finish making all his major appointments within two weeks. It's a mix of insiders and outsiders; former and current legislators, mayors, and city council members; and business, labor, and nonprofit leaders.

On the list:

Previously announced co-chairs Fred Jarrett, a state senator (D-41) who opposed Constantine in the primary and Hyeok Kim, head of Inter*Im Community Development Association;

King County Labor Council Executive Secretary Dave Freiboth;

State Rep. Deb Eddy (D-48);

Seattle Deputy Mayor Tim Ceis;

Former King County budget director Steve Call;

SEIU Local 775 president David Rolf;

State Rep. Ross Hunter (D-48), another Constantine primary opponent;

Seattle Chamber VP Charles Knutson;

and Seattle City Council member Sally Clark, among others.

Full list (sorry, I was on the scene, and just got back in the office) below the jump.Co-chair State Senator Fred Jarrett, a leader in reform efforts, retired Boeing executive and transportation leader.
Co-chair Hyeok Kim, a respected voice in the human services and affordable housing arena
Dave Freiboth, King County Labor Council
State Rep. Deb Eddy (D-48th)
Seattle Deputy Mayor Tim Ceis
Steve Call, former King County Budget Director
Attorney Jay Biagi, a prominent political Independent with thoughtful ideas on improving customer service within government
Lorena Gonzalez, attorney and member of the Latino Bar
Tukwila City Councilmember DeSean Quinn
Dustin Frederick, King County Coalition of Unions
State Rep. Sharon Nelson (D-34th)
David Rolf, SEIU local 775 president
State Representative Ross Hunter (D-48th), a former Microsoft executive and leader in business and financial reform.
Don Root, chairman and CEO of GM Nameplate
University of Washington Professor Steve Page, expert in government reform and accountability
John Powers, Economic Development leader and former Spokane Mayor
Sumeer Singla, an expert in wireless and other emerging technologies
Nate Miles, a leader in health care policy and research.
Diane Sosne, SEIU 1199 President
Bellevue Mayor Grant Degginger
Councilmember Fred Butler of Issaquah
Kim Cook, SEIU local 925 President
Shaunta Hyde, Boeing Company
Charles Knutson, Senior Vice President, Greater Seattle Chamber of Commerce
Estella Ortega, El Centro de la Raza
Martha Kongsgaard, environmental leader
State Rep. Chris Hurst of Enumclaw
Jay Covington, Chief Administrative Officer City of Renton
Seattle City Councilmember Sally Clark
Ruthann Kurose, Board of Trustees, Bellevue Community College
Filed under
Show Comments