Welcome to the Seattle Met beta. Please email us with issues or feedback!

Books

Kathleen Flinn Changing Courses, Viking/Penguin (2011);
The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry, Penguin (2008)
Kurt Timmermeister Growing a Farmer, W. W. Norton (2011)
Langdon Cook Fat of the Land, Skipstone Press (2009)
Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, and Maxime Bilet Modernist Cuisine, The Cooking Lab (2010)

Cooking Schools

Art of the Pie @katemcdermott, artofthepie@gmail.com, artofthepie.com
Diane’s Market Kitchen 1101 Post Ave, Downtown, 206-624-6114, dianesmarketkitchen.com
NuCulinary 6523 California Ave SW, West Seattle, 206-932-3855; nuculinary.com

Events

Burning Beast burningbeast.com
New Guard hopegrocery.com
One Pot @onepot, onepot.org
Outstanding in the Field outstandinginthefield.com
Walrus and the Carpenter Oyster Picnic @taylorshellfish, taylorshellfishfarms.com/ourfarms-totteninlet

Farms, Farmers Markets, and Farmers Market Vendors

Alvarez Farms 300 Murray Rd, Mabton, 509-837-2381
Columbia City Farmers Market Rainier Ave S & S Edmunds St, Columbia City, 206-547-2278; seattlefarmersmarkets.org/markets
Foraged and Found Edibles @foragedandfound, 866-951-1031; foragedandfoundedibles.com
Full Circle Farms @fullcirclefarm, 31904 NE Eighth St, Carnation, 425-333-4677; fullcirclefarm.com
Georgetown Farmers Market 6000 Airport Way S, Georgetown; georgetownfarmersmarket.wordpress.com
Kurtwood Farms @kurtwoodfarms, kurtwoodfarms.com
Loki Fish @lokifishco, 309 S Cloverdale St, West Seattle, 206-937-1048; lokifish.com
Oxbow Organic Farm 10819 Carnation Duvall Rd NE, Carnation, 425-788-1134; oxbow.org
Pike Place Market @pike_place, First Ave & Pike St, Downtown, 206-682-7453; pikeplacemarket.org
Queen Anne Farmers Market @qafarmersmarket, Queen Anne Ave N & W Crockett St, Queen Anne, 206-428-1983; qafma.org
Secret Stash Sea Salt @secretstashsalt, secretsalts.com
Tiny’s Organic @tinysorganic 206-293-0633; tinysorganic.com

Food Trucks

Los Agaves 425-241-8131; losagaves.net
Marination Mobile @_curb_cuisine, marinationmobile.com
Maximus/Minimus @somepigseattle, 206-601-5510; maximus-minimus.com
Parfait Organic Artisan Ice Cream @parfaiticecream, 206-941-4679; parfait-icecream.com
Skillet Street Food @skilletstfood; skilletstreetfood.com
Street Treats @streettreatswa; streettreatswa.com

{page break}

People

Amy Pennington @gogogreengarden, gogogreengarden.com
Anna Roth @annaroth
Bill Vingelen @farmerbillv, theherbfarm.com
Cheryl “The Pig Lady” Ouellette cherylthepiglady.com
Chris Young intellectualventures.com
Christina Choi @nettletown, nettletown.com
Diane Skwiercz @streettreatswa, streettreatswa.com
Donna Moodie @marjoriecaphill, marjorierestaurant.com
Ericka Burke @volunteerpark, alwaysfreshgoodness.com
Hajime Sato @sushiwhore, sushiwhore.com
Heather Earnhardt @volunteerpark, alwaysfreshgoodness.com
Jeremy Faber @foragedandfound,foragedandfoundedibles.com
Joshua Henderson @skilletstfood, skilletstreetfood.com
Kamala Saxton @curb_cuisine, marinationmobile.com
Kathleen Flinn @katflinn, kathleenflinn.com
Kathy Casey @kathycaseychef, kathycasey.com
Kim O’Donnel @canvolution, canningacrossamerica.com
Kurt Timmermeister @kurtwoodfarms
Kylen McCarthy @marjoriecaphill, marjorierestaurant.com
Langdon Cook @langdoncook, fat-of-the-land.blogspot.com
Mark Fuller @markrfuller, springhillnorthwest.com
Matt Dillon @corsonbuilding, thecorsonbuilding.com, sitkaandspruce.com
Renee Erickson @boatstreet, boatstreetcafe.com
Roz Edison @curb_cuisine, marinationmobile.com
Scott Heimendinger @seattlefoodgeek, seattlefoodgeek.com
Shannon Galusha @bastilleseattle, bastilleseattle.com
Surly Gourmand @surlygourmand, surlygourmand.blogspot.com
Tom Douglas @tomdouglasco, tomdouglas.com
Tyler Palagi @springhill_ws, springhillnorthwest.com
Whitney Ricketts @whitneyricketts

 

Restaurants

Bastille Café and Bar @bastilleseattle, 5307 Ballard Ave NW, Ballard, 206-453-5014; bastilleseattle.com
Boat Street Cafe @boatstreet, 3131 Western Ave, Queen Anne, 206-632-4602; boatstreetcafe.com
Canlis @canlis, 2576 Aurora Ave N, Queen Anne, 206-283-3313; canlis.com
The Corson Building @corsonbuilding, 5609 Corson Ave S, Georgetown, 206-762-3330; thecorsonbuilding.com
Dish D’Lish @dishdlish, 5136 Ballard Ave NW, Ballard, 206-789-8121; kathycasey.com/dish_d_lish
Elemental @ Gasworks 3309 Wallingford Ave N, Wallingford, 206-547-2317; elementalatgasworks.com
Elliott Bay Café 101 S Main St, Pioneer Square, 206-682-6664; elliottbaycafe.com
Harvest Vine @harvestvine, 2701 E Madison St, Madison Valley, 206-320-9771; harvestvine.com
Kings BBQ 303 12th Ave S, Central District, 206-720-4715 and 518 Sixth Ave S, International District, 206-622-2828
Lark @larkseattle, 926 12th Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-323-5275; larkseattle.com
The Herbfarm @herbguy, 14590 NE 145th St, Woodinville, 425-485-5300; theherbfarm.com
Homegrown @homegrownian, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-682-0935 and 3416 Fremont Ave N, Fremont, 206-453-5232; eathomegrown.com
Marjorie @marjoriecaphill, 1412 E Union St, Capitol Hill, 206-441-9842; marjorierestaurant.com
Mashiko @sushiwhore, 4725 California Ave, West Seattle, 206-935-4339; sushiwhore.com
Nettletown @nettletown, 2238 Eastlake Ave E, Eastlake, 206-588-3607; nettletown.com
Oddfellows Cafe and Bar @oddfellowscafe, 1525 10th Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-325-0807; oddfellowscafe.com
Poppy @poppyseattle, 622 Broadway E, Capitol Hill, 206-324-1108; poppyseattle.com
Sitka and Spruce 1531 Melrose Ave E, Capitol Hill, 206-324-0662; sitkaandspruce.com
Spring Hill @springhill_ws, 4437 California Ave SW, West Seattle, 206-935-1075; spring
hillnorthwest.com
Stumbling Goat bistro 6722 Greenwood Ave N, Greenwood, 206-784-3535; stumblinggoat.com
Tilth @mariahines, 1411 N 45th St, Wallingford, 206-633-0801; tilthrestaurant.com
Trellis @heathmanhotel, 220 Kirkland Ave, Kirkland, 425-284-5900; heathmankirkland.com
Volunteer Park Cafe and Marketplace @volunteerpark, 1501 17th Ave E, Capitol Hill, 206-328-3155; alwaysfreshgoodness.com

 

Shops

Bargreen Ellingson 3627 First Ave S, SoDo, 206-682-1472; bargreen.com
Bill the Butcher @theonlymeat, 800-781-3677; billthebutcher.us
Calf and Kid @calfandkid, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-467-5447; calfandkid.com
Claudio Corallo @claudiocorallo 2122 Westlake Ave, Belltown, 206-859-3534; claudiocorallochocolate.com
Creminelli Fine Meat creminelli.com
Dahlia Bakery @tdrbakery_, 2001 Fourth Ave, Belltown, 206-441-4540; tomdouglas.com/index.php/restaurants/dahlia-bakery
DeLaurenti Specialty Food and Wine 1435 First Ave, Pike Place Market, 206-622-0141; delaurenti.com
Emerald Market Supply 1526 First Ave S, SoDo, 206-241-7004; marketsupply.com
Fumie’s Gold 10045 NE First St, Bellevue, 425-223-5893
Grateful Bread 7001 35th Ave NE, Wedgwood, 206-525-3166; gratefulbreadbaking.com
Ikea 601 SW 41st St, Renton, 425-656-2980; ikea.com
Marigold and Mint @mintmarigold, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-682-3111;
marigoldandmint.com
Macrina Bakery visit macrinabakery.com for locations
Melrose Market @melrosemarket, Between Pine and Pike Sts on Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill; melrosemarketseattle.com
Metropolitan Market @metmarket, visit metropolitan-market.com for locations
Paris Grocery 1418 Western Ave, Pike Place Market, 206-682-0679; parisgroceryseattle.com
Picnic @picnicseattle, 6801 Greenwood Ave N, Phinney Ridge, 206-453-5867; picnicseattle.com
Rain Shadow Meats @rainshadowmeats, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-467-6328; rainshadowmeats.com
Saltworks 800-353-7258; saltworks.us
Savour @savour_seattle, 2242 NW Market St, Ballard, 206-789-0775; savourspecialtyfoods.com
Sur La Table @sur_la_table, multiple locations, surlatable.com
Theo Chocolate @theochocolate, 3400 Phinney Ave N, Fremont, 206-632-5100; theochocolate.com
Tokara 6208 Phinney Ave N, Phinney Ridge, 206-784-0226; tokaragashi.com
Whole Foods @wholefoods, visit wholefoodsmarket.com for locations

This article appeared in the August 2010 issue of Seattle Met Magazine.

Show Comments

More in Food Lovers’ Guide

Chris qqrxdv

Slideshow

Slide Show: Fresh Faces!

The people we find most fascinating in the Seattle food scene right now.

Hands knife gyt1tf

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Wield a Knife Like a Ninja

Kathleen Flinn on how to find the cutlery that will really give you an edge.

2014.05.27.seattlemet.foodlovers.brent 116 edit cjsmya

Slideshow

Eat Local! 15 Pantry Must-Haves Made in Washington

The made-in-Washington pantry already brims with winners (Mama Lil's Peppers, Ballard Bee Honey, Boat Street Pickles). But these newcomers impart flavor by the smear, dollop, and spoonful.

2 b8d6ar

Slideshow

Slide Show: You Put Your Weed in It

Seattleites are pushing the limits of the newly legal frontier of marijuana edibles.

Hands sous fntpkz

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Sous Vide at Home

Scott Heimendinger, aka Seattle Food Geek, on how to cook sous-vide foods at home.

Hands bacon p7ymoy

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Win Friends and Punish Enemies (By Making Bacon)

The Surly Gourmand of surlygourmand.blogspot.com on his recipe for home-cured bacon.

Newsign btvwxz

Food Lovers' Guide

Food Lovers’ Guide

Fascinated by the Seattle food world? Welcome to a feast of sumptuous edibles and rising culinary stars.

Chris qqrxdv

Food Lovers' Guide

Fresh Faces!

The people we find most fascinating in the Seattle food scene right now.

0810 food lover forage giky2i

Food Lovers' Guide

They Can Dig It

Chefs at Bastille, the Corson Building, Volunteer Park Cafe, Trellis, and the Herbfarm grow their own in edible gardens.

Untitled 6 jkzz78

Food Lovers' Guide

Seattle Food Events

Five kick-yourself-if-you-miss-it awesomefests: Burning Beast, New Guard Dinner Series, Outstanding in the Field, Queen Anne Farmers Market, and Walrus and the Carpenter Oyster Picnic.

Untitled 4 juq8hf

Food Lovers' Guide

We’ve Got It Covered

Ten food trends; Skillet bacon jam, Secret Stash Sea Salts, veggies from Tiny’s Organic and Full Circle Farms— that Seattle is dishing out with great success.

Es20100703 236 hf9htz

Food Lovers' Guide

Shopping List

Our favorite new culinary destinations around town: Claudio Corallo, Paris Grocery, Fumie’s Gold, Georgetown Farmers Market, Kings BBQ House, Melrose Market, Picnic, Savour, and Street Treats.

Es20100703 186 llxdlg

Food Lovers' Guide

What’s His Story?

If you’re curious about Jeremy Faber, founder of Foraged and Found Edibles, ask his friends.

Hands knife gzquvi

Food Lovers' Guide

Kathleen Flinn Breaks Down the Anatomy of a Knife

The author of The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry on what to look for when purchasing kitchen cutlery.

Hands knife gyt1tf

Food Lovers' Guide

Kathleen Flinn Demos How to Chop Veggies Like a Pro

Learn tear-free techniques for cutting an onion with the author of The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry.