Kathleen Flinn Changing Courses, Viking/Penguin (2011);
The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry, Penguin (2008)
Kurt Timmermeister Growing a Farmer, W. W. Norton (2011)
Langdon Cook Fat of the Land, Skipstone Press (2009)
Nathan Myhrvold, Chris Young, and Maxime Bilet Modernist Cuisine, The Cooking Lab (2010)

Cooking Schools

Art of the Pie @katemcdermott,,
Diane’s Market Kitchen 1101 Post Ave, Downtown, 206-624-6114,
NuCulinary 6523 California Ave SW, West Seattle, 206-932-3855;


Burning Beast
New Guard
One Pot @onepot,
Outstanding in the Field
Walrus and the Carpenter Oyster Picnic @taylorshellfish,

Farms, Farmers Markets, and Farmers Market Vendors

Alvarez Farms 300 Murray Rd, Mabton, 509-837-2381
Columbia City Farmers Market Rainier Ave S & S Edmunds St, Columbia City, 206-547-2278;
Foraged and Found Edibles @foragedandfound, 866-951-1031;
Full Circle Farms @fullcirclefarm, 31904 NE Eighth St, Carnation, 425-333-4677;
Georgetown Farmers Market 6000 Airport Way S, Georgetown;
Kurtwood Farms @kurtwoodfarms,
Loki Fish @lokifishco, 309 S Cloverdale St, West Seattle, 206-937-1048;
Oxbow Organic Farm 10819 Carnation Duvall Rd NE, Carnation, 425-788-1134;
Pike Place Market @pike_place, First Ave & Pike St, Downtown, 206-682-7453;
Queen Anne Farmers Market @qafarmersmarket, Queen Anne Ave N & W Crockett St, Queen Anne, 206-428-1983;
Secret Stash Sea Salt @secretstashsalt,
Tiny’s Organic @tinysorganic 206-293-0633;

Food Trucks

Los Agaves 425-241-8131;
Marination Mobile @_curb_cuisine,
Maximus/Minimus @somepigseattle, 206-601-5510;
Parfait Organic Artisan Ice Cream @parfaiticecream, 206-941-4679;
Skillet Street Food @skilletstfood;
Street Treats @streettreatswa;

{page break}


Amy Pennington @gogogreengarden,
Anna Roth @annaroth
Bill Vingelen @farmerbillv,
Cheryl “The Pig Lady” Ouellette
Chris Young
Christina Choi @nettletown,
Diane Skwiercz @streettreatswa,
Donna Moodie @marjoriecaphill,
Ericka Burke @volunteerpark,
Hajime Sato @sushiwhore,
Heather Earnhardt @volunteerpark,
Jeremy Faber @foragedandfound,
Joshua Henderson @skilletstfood,
Kamala Saxton @curb_cuisine,
Kathleen Flinn @katflinn,
Kathy Casey @kathycaseychef,
Kim O’Donnel @canvolution,
Kurt Timmermeister @kurtwoodfarms
Kylen McCarthy @marjoriecaphill,
Langdon Cook @langdoncook,
Mark Fuller @markrfuller,
Matt Dillon @corsonbuilding,,
Renee Erickson @boatstreet,
Roz Edison @curb_cuisine,
Scott Heimendinger @seattlefoodgeek,
Shannon Galusha @bastilleseattle,
Surly Gourmand @surlygourmand,
Tom Douglas @tomdouglasco,
Tyler Palagi @springhill_ws,
Whitney Ricketts @whitneyricketts



Bastille Café and Bar @bastilleseattle, 5307 Ballard Ave NW, Ballard, 206-453-5014;
Boat Street Cafe @boatstreet, 3131 Western Ave, Queen Anne, 206-632-4602;
Canlis @canlis, 2576 Aurora Ave N, Queen Anne, 206-283-3313;
The Corson Building @corsonbuilding, 5609 Corson Ave S, Georgetown, 206-762-3330;
Dish D’Lish @dishdlish, 5136 Ballard Ave NW, Ballard, 206-789-8121;
Elemental @ Gasworks 3309 Wallingford Ave N, Wallingford, 206-547-2317;
Elliott Bay Café 101 S Main St, Pioneer Square, 206-682-6664;
Harvest Vine @harvestvine, 2701 E Madison St, Madison Valley, 206-320-9771;
Kings BBQ 303 12th Ave S, Central District, 206-720-4715 and 518 Sixth Ave S, International District, 206-622-2828
Lark @larkseattle, 926 12th Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-323-5275;
The Herbfarm @herbguy, 14590 NE 145th St, Woodinville, 425-485-5300;
Homegrown @homegrownian, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-682-0935 and 3416 Fremont Ave N, Fremont, 206-453-5232;
Marjorie @marjoriecaphill, 1412 E Union St, Capitol Hill, 206-441-9842;
Mashiko @sushiwhore, 4725 California Ave, West Seattle, 206-935-4339;
Nettletown @nettletown, 2238 Eastlake Ave E, Eastlake, 206-588-3607;
Oddfellows Cafe and Bar @oddfellowscafe, 1525 10th Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-325-0807;
Poppy @poppyseattle, 622 Broadway E, Capitol Hill, 206-324-1108;
Sitka and Spruce 1531 Melrose Ave E, Capitol Hill, 206-324-0662;
Spring Hill @springhill_ws, 4437 California Ave SW, West Seattle, 206-935-1075; spring
Stumbling Goat bistro 6722 Greenwood Ave N, Greenwood, 206-784-3535;
Tilth @mariahines, 1411 N 45th St, Wallingford, 206-633-0801;
Trellis @heathmanhotel, 220 Kirkland Ave, Kirkland, 425-284-5900;
Volunteer Park Cafe and Marketplace @volunteerpark, 1501 17th Ave E, Capitol Hill, 206-328-3155;



Bargreen Ellingson 3627 First Ave S, SoDo, 206-682-1472;
Bill the Butcher @theonlymeat, 800-781-3677;
Calf and Kid @calfandkid, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-467-5447;
Claudio Corallo @claudiocorallo 2122 Westlake Ave, Belltown, 206-859-3534;
Creminelli Fine Meat
Dahlia Bakery @tdrbakery_, 2001 Fourth Ave, Belltown, 206-441-4540;
DeLaurenti Specialty Food and Wine 1435 First Ave, Pike Place Market, 206-622-0141;
Emerald Market Supply 1526 First Ave S, SoDo, 206-241-7004;
Fumie’s Gold 10045 NE First St, Bellevue, 425-223-5893
Grateful Bread 7001 35th Ave NE, Wedgwood, 206-525-3166;
Ikea 601 SW 41st St, Renton, 425-656-2980;
Marigold and Mint @mintmarigold, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-682-3111;
Macrina Bakery visit for locations
Melrose Market @melrosemarket, Between Pine and Pike Sts on Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill;
Metropolitan Market @metmarket, visit for locations
Paris Grocery 1418 Western Ave, Pike Place Market, 206-682-0679;
Picnic @picnicseattle, 6801 Greenwood Ave N, Phinney Ridge, 206-453-5867;
Rain Shadow Meats @rainshadowmeats, 1531 Melrose Ave, Capitol Hill, 206-467-6328;
Saltworks 800-353-7258;
Savour @savour_seattle, 2242 NW Market St, Ballard, 206-789-0775;
Sur La Table @sur_la_table, multiple locations,
Theo Chocolate @theochocolate, 3400 Phinney Ave N, Fremont, 206-632-5100;
Tokara 6208 Phinney Ave N, Phinney Ridge, 206-784-0226;
Whole Foods @wholefoods, visit for locations

This article appeared in the August 2010 issue of Seattle Met Magazine.

Show Comments

More in Food Lovers’ Guide

Hands knife gyt1tf

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Wield a Knife Like a Ninja

Kathleen Flinn on how to find the cutlery that will really give you an edge.

  • By Christopher Werner
  • Published 07/19/2010
Chris qqrxdv


Slide Show: Fresh Faces!

The people we find most fascinating in the Seattle food scene right now.

  • Published 07/20/2010
Hands sous fntpkz

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Sous Vide at Home

Scott Heimendinger, aka Seattle Food Geek, on how to cook sous-vide foods at home.

  • By Judy Naegeli
  • Published 07/19/2010
Hands bacon p7ymoy

Food Lovers' Guide

How To Win Friends and Punish Enemies (By Making Bacon)

The Surly Gourmand of on his recipe for home-cured bacon.

  • By Surly Gourmand
  • Published 07/19/2010
Newsign btvwxz

Food Lovers' Guide

Food Lovers’ Guide

Fascinated by the Seattle food world? Welcome to a feast of sumptuous edibles and rising culinary stars.

  • By Caitlin King, Judy Naegeli, Christopher Werner, Jessica Voelker, James Ross Gardner, and Jess Thomson
  • Published 07/21/2010
Chris qqrxdv

Food Lovers' Guide

Fresh Faces!

The people we find most fascinating in the Seattle food scene right now.

  • By Christopher Werner, Jessica Voelker, James Ross Gardner, and Jess Thomson
  • Published 07/20/2010
0810 food lover forage giky2i

Food Lovers' Guide

They Can Dig It

Chefs at Bastille, the Corson Building, Volunteer Park Cafe, Trellis, and the Herbfarm grow their own in edible gardens.

  • By Jessica Voelker
  • Published 07/19/2010
Untitled 6 jkzz78

Food Lovers' Guide

Seattle Food Events

Five kick-yourself-if-you-miss-it awesomefests: Burning Beast, New Guard Dinner Series, Outstanding in the Field, Queen Anne Farmers Market, and Walrus and the Carpenter Oyster Picnic.

  • By Jessica Voelker
  • Published 07/19/2010
Untitled 4 juq8hf

Food Lovers' Guide

We’ve Got It Covered

Ten food trends; Skillet bacon jam, Secret Stash Sea Salts, veggies from Tiny’s Organic and Full Circle Farms— that Seattle is dishing out with great success.

  • By Jessica Voelker
  • Published 07/19/2010
Es20100703 236 hf9htz

Food Lovers' Guide

Shopping List

Our favorite new culinary destinations around town: Claudio Corallo, Paris Grocery, Fumie’s Gold, Georgetown Farmers Market, Kings BBQ House, Melrose Market, Picnic, Savour, and Street Treats.

  • By Jessica Voelker
  • Published 07/19/2010
Es20100703 186 llxdlg

Food Lovers' Guide

What’s His Story?

If you’re curious about Jeremy Faber, founder of Foraged and Found Edibles, ask his friends.

  • By Caitlin King and Jessica Voelker
  • Published 07/19/2010
Hands knife gzquvi

Food Lovers' Guide

Kathleen Flinn Breaks Down the Anatomy of a Knife

The author of The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry on what to look for when purchasing kitchen cutlery.

  • By Christopher Werner
  • Published 07/23/2010
Hands knife gyt1tf

Food Lovers' Guide

Kathleen Flinn Demos How to Chop Veggies Like a Pro

Learn tear-free techniques for cutting an onion with the author of The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry.

  • By Christopher Werner
  • Published 07/26/2010